2013 Casablanca Valley Pinot Noir

At a glance:
Country: Chile
Region: Casablanca Valley
Grape(s): Pinot Noir
Year: 2013
Maker: Prisma

Price: 12.99

I usually try to weave a few interesting little life bits into these reviews. This is not one of them. On the day we opened this bottle, the first pinot noir I’ve ever had from Chile, it rained, and I got a haircut, and not a lot else happened. Maybe I should have taken that as an omen of sorts. prisma pinot bottle.jpg

The wine managed to smell quite a bit like a pinot noir, but tasted a little juicier than I
expected. Some of the flavors were nice, a bit of cherry, maybe some blueberry or other dark fruit in there somewhere, but it seemed a little boozy, especially since the label said it was only 13% abv, and it also felt more tannic than seemed to fit the wine. So I had a new haircut (good I suppose), and some leftover raguprisma glass pic.png (cooked it slow for hours – tasted great, but truthfully maybe not the best fit for the wine) and a pinot noir that just wasn’t all that great.

That said, maybe that whole bummed out angle is a little unfair. It’s a reasonably priced wine, especially for pinot noirs which seem to be so hard to find at that range. It was a vineyard I had never heard of (note: this is most vineyards), in an area I haven’t had much wine from (note: this is most areas) – in essence, a total gamble I made based almost entirely on the grape, the price, and a slightly hypnotizing bottle. So really, what did I expect? In the end, not a slam dunk, but it was worth a shot, so kind of hard to get too worked up about it.

2013 Casablanca Valley Pinot Noir

Leave a Reply

