2015 New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc

At a glance:
Country: New Zealand
Region: Marlborough
Grape(s): Sauvignon Blanc
Year: 2015
Maker: Haymaker

Price: 9.99

My New Zealand knowledge is relatively limited, mostly centered on the fact that it looks beautiful, and that it is the home of the Flight of the Conchords’ Jemaine Clement, and also by extension partly responsible for the movie People Places Things that he stars in. I really really liked that movie, and it’s on Netflix, so do yourself a favor and watch it, then report back.

I also knew, in the back of my mind somewhere, that they had winehaymaker bottle.jpg there, although I can’t remember having had too many bottles from that far off island, so when I saw this lovely looking thing at a store the other week, I picked it up (that it was under $10 didn’t hurt its case).

So I’m just going to pat myself on the back for this one, because it was good. It was a very pale color, with a lot of grapefruit flavor, which I really enjoy, and it reminded me of these little cans of grapefruit juice concentrate we used to bring on hikes (they were these little 6 ounce cans with a small foil pulltab). Anyways, it wasn’t just nostalgia that made me like this wine. It was crisp and clean, with a slight hint of effervescence, an bit of green pepper (apparently my go-to pepper when talking about wine, sorry to haymaker in glass.jpgthe red orange and yellows), and some black pepper and herb kinds of notes towards the finish.

While I was drinking this, enjoying the taste and feeling rather pleased with myself, I started to wonder if maybe it was somehow too obviously good? That somehow, as an amateur, I wouldn’t understand the subtle wines, and that I only get these sort of loud wines that seem good to the novice, but that a pro would quickly dismiss.

But you know what? This wine tastes good, and I’m an amateur and not apologizing for it. Best white wine I’ve had for a while, and I’ll buy it again very soon.

2015 New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc

Leave a Reply

