2012 Côtes du Rhône Red Blend

At a glance:

Country: France
Region: Vacqueyras, Côtes du Rhône
Grape(s): Blend (50% Grenache, 40% Syrah, 10% Mourvedre)
Year: 2012
Maker: Clos des Cazaux

Price: 17.99

Usually I remember why I picked out a wine – maybe a new grape, an interesting blend, a vacqueras cotes du rhonedifferent region, or a label with a hip looking font (that last one has happened more than I care to admit but sometimes it totally works out). I actually don’t really remember why I got this particular wine, a blend from the Cotes du Rhone region of France. Although I wish I could say it just materialized out of thin air, I probably bought it during a distracted moment at the wine store. These things happen.

We opened up this bottle a few nights back, alongside what has become one of our dinner staples – a cast iron skillet roasted chicken (shout out to Melissa Clark, whose recipe we use – link here). The wine was a little subdued at first, with a  texture that was borderline syrupy, although it certainly wasn’t sweet, just a little more viscous than most wines I’ve had. It had a little bit of rosewater flavor roast chickentowards the middle, with a slightly herby finish (more of a cooking herb than a medicinal one though, if that makes sense). And that’s about all I can say there – not a lot to talk about with this one. It felt a little faded, less in the “so much subtlety in flavor just beneath the surface” and more “seems like it’s just kinda plain.”

All told, the wine was not bad, but it also just wasn’t that good, and I have had better blends from that area for a few bucks less. Who knows why I ended up choosing that wine – I have to believe I just worked up some momentum in the French section of the wine store, and got a little carried away. Next time, we can hope my blind pick is a little bit luckier.

2012 Côtes du Rhône Red Blend

Leave a Reply

