2012 Willamette Valley Pinot Noir

At a glance:

Country: USA
Region: Willamette Valley
Grape(s): Pinot Noir
Year: 2012
Maker: Omero

Price:  21.99

I have liked wine for a while, but the first wine that made me want to buy a case of it was a pinot noir from Omero. I found it in a wine store in Seattle, and brought it along with a few other bottles back to DC. When we were back in the Pacific Northwest last summer, we got a case of Oregon pinots, and made sure to have a good amount of Omero pinots in the bunch.
omero bottle front
So we opened this one up a few days ago to go along with a nice meal – my first foray into
ravioli. I’ve done a few homemade pastas, and have always rolled them out by hand. The ravioli added a different dimension, both because I had to roll it out a bit thinner (in the end, it probably was still a little too thick) and also because I had to come up with something to fill it with (instead of my usual go-to ragu).

I ended up deciding to use a butternut squash we had sitting on the counter for a few months (but it was still good – those things last forever!), blended that with some roasted hazelnuts, and threw in some freshly made ricotta. It ended up tasting pretty good (can you tell from that casual, yet still clearly self-satisfied tone?). In any case, after spending a lot of time on a meal, I felt like we could bust out the Omero.

omero bottle backThe wine tasted like something between black cherry and blackberry (dark fruit I guess?) with a tiny bit of char and a hint of spice towards the end. The wine is really good – anchored in fruit but not itself super fruity, yet also not intentionally subdued like some pinots that are trying a little too hard. It’s also a nice looking bottle, and from a nerdy kind of perspective, has some of the wine’s details on the backside of the bottle. I have a few more bottles around the house, and I will enjoy each and every one of them.

2012 Willamette Valley Pinot Noir

One thought on “2012 Willamette Valley Pinot Noir

Leave a Reply

