2014 Côtes du Rhône from Kermit Lynch

At a glance:

Country: France
Region: Côtes du Rhône
Grape(s):Grenache, Syrah, Carignan, Cinsault, and Mourvèdre
Year: 2014
Maker: Kermit Lynch

Price:  11.99

I trust Kermit Lynch – that extends to most of what he brings in the country, and also to the unbranded stuff blended for the company. It was a Sunday, and I was drinking with a buddy and playing some guitar, so I figured the Cyprus Cuvée would be the perfect bottle to open – something tasty, versatile, with the added bonus that I could consume it without sweating over the price.

Taking a good whiff of the wine, I got a bunch of  tart strawberry (or maybe I was just making that up since I’d been eating a ton of tart strawberries in my CSA). The berry flavor continued in the taste, with flavors of just ripe huckleberry. There were definitely some tannins in there but nothing too strong, just enough to keep the wine anchored on either side of the mouth. As the wine hung out in the glass a little longer, I started to taste some grapefruit flavors (and without any grapefruits in our seasonal CSA, I was a little less dismissive of that one).

After drinking a few glasses along with our reasonable attempts at covering a range of predictable but still entirely fun folk songs, I closed the bottle. It was still tasty again the next night, although it seemed like the wine missed a little something towards the center (whatever that means). It also may have been a little early to drink it, so I’ll throw that possibility in there as well since I take some responsibility as the drinker. Either way, definitely tasty, and very reasonably priced, so will pick up a bottle or two next time I’m at the store.

2014 Côtes du Rhône from Kermit Lynch

One thought on “2014 Côtes du Rhône from Kermit Lynch

Leave a Reply

