2014 Oregon Pinot Noir

Country: USA
Region: Willamette Valley
Grape(s): Pinot Noir
Year: 2014
Maker: McKinlay
Price: $18

Oregon pinot noir is my favorite wine. It hasn’t always been the case, and the truth is I really didn’t even drink them until a few years back. Now I am constantly on the lookout, buying a case, drinking a few, and squirreling some away for a special occasion.

My favorite Oregon pinot to date is the Omero, especially the one from 2012 (but a close second, and one of the most reliable pinots I have had is the Mckinlay. I can’t remember where I first had this one, but I believe it was a suggestion from the guys at Northwest Wine (link) a few summers ago.
Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
This bottle, a 2014, looked beautiful in the glass, a light garnet color that almost shimmered. The smells are amazing, with deep caramelized plums edged with allspice and coffee. The taste is both tangy and smooth, tart towards the middle but anchored well at the sides. There is definitely fruit there, floating somewhere between the cherry and strawberry spectrum, but more reserved than some of the warmer year Oregon pinots I have had.
Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
I had a glass of this one just because – I did have some leftovers, a nice mid-week recipe from Melissa Clark of pasta with squash and kale pesto, but the food was more an excuse to have the wine in this instance. I really like this wine, have bought it many times before, and hope to buy it many times again.

Processed with VSCO with m5 preset

2014 Oregon Pinot Noir

Leave a Reply

